Thursday, October 18th

A soloist and a quartet from Black River Falls took home top honors during the recent State Solo & Ensemble music festivals sponsored by the Wisconsin School Music Association.

Vocalist Mark Gacek of Black River Falls and the Black River Falls quartet of Katie Leadholm, Kim Leadholm, Andrea Peterson and Sunny Rufsholm won exemplary performance awards.

They were two of only 460 performances designated as exemplary out of the more than 11,000 vocal and instrumental solo and ensemble performances at the 10 state festival sites.

Other vocal soloists from region who won exemplary performance awards included: Erick Hunter and Ahmad Jandal, La Crosse Central; Ethan Nott, Aquinas; Anna Van Riper, La Crosse Logan; Juhl Kuhlemeier, Alma; Simon Geiger-Schutz, Cochrane-Fountain City; Savannah Horstman, Holmen; Kate Copps and Rachel Shoenecker, Onalaska; Joseph Krpan, Sparta; Anderson Becker, Tomah; Elena Morton, Viroqua; and Evan Philips, Westby.

Three small vocal ensembles from the area also won recognition, including duets from Holmen (Savannah Ploessl and Carter Sime) and Alma (Juhl Kuhlemeier and Katrina Danzinger).